Show simple item record

dc.contributor.authorCameron, Chantal
dc.descriptionThe County of Lincoln dates back to 1798, when the first Lincoln County was formed. It was comprised of the townships of Clinton, Grimsby, Saltfleet, Barton, Ancaster, Glanford, Binbrook, Gainsborough, Caistor, Newark (Niagara), Grantham, Louth, Stamford, Thorold, Pelham, Bertie, Willoughby, Crowland, Humberstone and Wainfleet. The County boundaries were revised over the years, and the formation of Welland County in 1856 left only 7 townships in Lincoln County (Niagara, Grantham, Louth, Clinton, Gainsborough, Caistor and Grimsby). A County Council was also established at this time, which consisted of a Clerk, Warden, and a representative from each township. In 1862, the County Seat was moved from Niagara-on-the-Lake to St. Catharines. In 1970, Lincoln and Welland Counties were amalgamated to form the Regional Municipality of Niagara.en_US
dc.description.abstractA program of a commemorative session of Lincoln County Council, dated November 19, 1969. This session was the final session of the Lincoln County Council before Lincoln County merged with Welland County to form the Regional Municipality of Niagara in 1970. The program contains the Council agenda, as well as a list of County Officials, Reeves and Deputy Reeves for 1969.en_US
dc.relation.ispartofseries;RG 475
dc.subjectLincoln (Ont. : County)--History.en_US
dc.titleProgram of a Commemorative session of Lincoln County Council, November 19, 1969.en_US

Files in this item

Commemorative program Lincoln ...

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

  • 1. Archival Finding Aids
    These finding aids are meant to help researchers find information in the fonds and collections available at the Brock University Archives & Special Collections

Show simple item record