Show simple item record

dc.contributor.authorCameron, Chantal
dc.descriptionThe Average White Band's debut album, Show your hand, was released in 1973. The "classic funk and R & B" band included members Alan Gorrie, Owen "Onnie" McIntyre, Malcolm "Mollie" Duncan, Roger Ball, Robbie McIntosh, and Mike Rosen. Rosen was quickly replaced by Hamish Stuart. The band, comprised of Scotsmen, released a second album in 1974 that featured the US number 1/UK Top 10 single "Pick up the Pieces". That same year, Robbie McIntosh died of a heroin overdose and was replaced by Steve Ferrone. The song "Cut the Cake" from their third album made the US top 10, and subsequent releases in the late 1970s and early 1980s proved successful. The members largely pursued individual projects in the years that followed, but re-formed in 1989 (with original members Gorrie, Ball and McIntyre, and new members Alex Ligertwood and Eliot Lewis) and released the album Aftershock. Over the years, the band's members have changed, and the band is currently comprised of Onnie McIntyre, Rocky Bryant, Alan Gorrie, Fred "Freddy V" Vigdor and Klyde Jones. Their most recent album, Times Squared, was released in 2009.en_US
dc.description.abstractConsists of a poster for the Average White Band, performing at the Silver Dollar Room in Toronto, Ont., on April 15, [?]. There are four (illegible) signatures on the poster.en_US
dc.relation.ispartofseries;RG 382
dc.titleAverage White Band poster, ca. 2000en_US

Files in this item

Poster for Average White Band ...

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

  • 1. Archival Finding Aids
    These finding aids are meant to help researchers find information in the fond available at The Brock University Special Collections and Archives.

Show simple item record