Show simple item record

dc.contributor.authorCameron, Chantal
dc.descriptionHoward Engel (1931-2019) was a Canadian writer and cartoonist. Engel was born in Toronto but raised in St. Catharines, Ontario. He is best known for his series of mystery novels featuring Benny Cooperman, a Jewish private investigator. He attended McMaster University in Hamilton and the Ontario College of Education, and for a while worked abroad in Nicosia, London, and Paris as a journalist and broadcaster. On his return to Canada he became a producer at the CBC. Some of his programs included Assignment; Sunday Supplement; The Arts in Review; Booktime; and Anthology. His series of mystery novels featuring Benny Cooperman take place in Grantham, Ontario, based on the City of St. Catharines where Engel was raised. Engel’s Benny Cooperman novels include The Suicide Murders (1980); The Ransom Game (1981); Murder on Location (1982); Murder Sees the Light (1984); A City Called July (1986); A Victim Must Be Found (1988); Dead and Buried (1990); There Was an Old Woman (1993); Getting Away with Murder; The Cooperman Variations; Memory Book; East of Suez; and The Whole Megillah. Engel was a founding member of the Crime Writers of Canada and the recipient of many awards, including Best Novel (Murder Sees the Light), Arthur Ellis Award (1985); Harbourfront Festival Prize for Canadian Literature (1990); Derrick Murdoch Award, Crime Writers of Canada (1998); Matt Cohen Award, Writer’s Trust of Canada (2005); Lifetime Achievement Award; Jewish Book Awards (2010); Grand Master Award, Crime Writers of Canada (2014); and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012). He received an honorary degree from Brock University in 1994 and McMaster University in 2007. In 2006 he was awarded the Order of Canada. In 2001 Engel suffered a stroke that left him with alexia sine agraphia, a rare medical condition that caused him to be unable to read. He was, however, still able to write. He wrote a memoir about the experience, titled The Man Who Forgot How to Read (2007). He also incorporated the condition into his Benny Cooperman novel Memory Book (2005), in which Benny has suffered a serious blow to the head and is afflicted with the same condition. He suffered another stroke in 2019 and died of pneumonia in Bridgepoint Hospital in Toronto. Engel was 88 years old and was survived by his three children, Jacob, William and Charlotte.en_US
dc.description.abstractFonds consists of material acquired by mystery writer Howard Engel. Most of the fonds consists of books written by Engel, including various editions and languages. Some of the books are signed by Engel and dedicated to members of his family. Most of the books are from Engel’s Benny Cooperman series of detective novels. All 13 books from the series are in the fonds, published between 1980 and 2012, and include The Suicide Murders; The Ransom Game; Murder on Location; Murder Sees the Light; A City Called July; A Victim Must Be Found; Dead and Buried; There Was an Old Woman; Getting Away with Murder; The Cooperman Variations; Memory Book; East of Suez; and The Whole Megillah. Several anthologies that contain Engel’s work are included. Two sketchbooks belonging to Engel are also included, as well as numerous images of Niagara Falls by the Carborundum Company from 1915 to 1927.en_US
dc.relation.ispartofseries;RG 790
dc.rightsCC0 1.0 Universal*
dc.subjectHoward Engelen_US
dc.subjectDetective and mystery storiesen_US
dc.subjectAuthors, Canadian (English)--20th centuryen_US
dc.titleHoward Engel fonds, 1905-2019, n.d.en_US

Files in this item

Howard Engel fonds RG790.pdf

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

  • 1. Archival Finding Aids
    These finding aids are meant to help researchers find information in the fonds and collections available at the Brock University Archives & Special Collections

Show simple item record

CC0 1.0 Universal
Except where otherwise noted, this item's license is described as CC0 1.0 Universal