No. 1. Sketch of that part of the Short Hills in the District of Niagara called The Mountain and on which it is proposed to construct The New Fortress.
MetadataShow full item record
AbstractHistoric map showing a portion of Niagara with vast ridges of elevation. This map provides unique notations in relation to the land features including forest, mountainous areas, and ravines. Relief is shown with hachures and shading and north is oriented to the right. Based on other maps (NMC-22144) the darker, horseshoe shaped section of mountain was known as “The Wellington Heights”. At the south-eastern tip of this range is a rounded area that leads to a longer line of elevation and forest. This area was known as “The Mountain”. Drawn within Wellington Heights is a plan for a new military fort. Paterson’s Farm and craters are labelled in this area. Farms, roads, school houses, and springs are indicated on the map. Map bears the stamp of the Inspector General of Fortifications and is signed by the author: "Royal Engineers Office. Quebec 20th Nov. 1827, E.W. Durnford, Col. Comg. R. Engineers. Canada." "BB46"--in top right corner.
Authorship indicated: Elias Walker Dunford.
Scale: 400 feet to 1 inch ; 1:4,800
Digital reproduction: Library and Archives Canada, National Map Collection: NMC-22143. Digital image from the CD-ROM entitled "Historic maps of the Niagara Peninsula from 1787-1864, acquired 2005" available in the Map, Data and GIS Library at call number Map PC G 3462 N53 1864 L53 2005.
Georeferenced and modified by Map, Data and GIS Library, Brock University.
Described in: Mapping Upper Canada, 1780-1867 / Joan Winearls. 1991. Reference no.: 736 (2)