Digital Repository

Lincoln County Records

DSpace/Manakin Repository

Show simple item record Cameron, Chantal 2012-06-12T14:33:45Z 2012-06-12T14:33:45Z 2012-06-12
dc.description The County of Lincoln dates back to 1798, when the first Lincoln County was formed. It was comprised of the townships of Clinton, Grimsby, Saltfleet, Barton, Ancaster, Glanford, Binbrook,Gainsborough, Caistor, Newark (Niagara),Grantham, Louth, Stamford, Thorold, Pelham, Bertie, Willoughby, Crowland, Humberstone and Wainfleet. The County boundaries were revised over the years, and the formation of Welland County in 1856 left only 7 townships in Lincoln County (Niagara, Grantham, Louth, Clinton, Gainsborough, Caistor and Grimsby). A County Council was also established at this time, which consisted of a Clerk, Warden, and a representative from each township. In 1862, the County Seat was moved from Niagara-on-the-Lake to St. Catharines. In 1970, Lincoln and Welland Counties were amalgamated to form the Regional Municipality of Niagara. en_US
dc.description.abstract This archive is part of the larger Ontario Editorial Bureau Fonds (OEB) housed at Brock University. The records contain information about Lincoln County’s activities and projects, including the promotional film “Lincoln County—Years of Heritage”, the annual Lincoln County Blossom time, and a survey of historic buildings in Lincoln County. The bulk of the material is correspondence, media releases and speeches. en_US
dc.language.iso en en_US
dc.relation.ispartofseries ;RG 75-30
dc.relation.ispartofseries ;RG 75-30
dc.subject Lincoln (Ont. : County)--History en_US
dc.title Lincoln County Records en_US
dc.type Other en_US

Files in this item

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record

Search The Repository


My Account


About the Digital Repository